Michigan High School Boys Swim and Dive: Pioneer, Seaholm win

The boys’ swimming and diving season ended on Saturday with the finals of all three divisions on the west side of the state.

Here is a recap of what happened.

Department 1 in Hudsonville

The favored Ann Arbor Pioneer won her first national championship title since 2009 and could easily prevail with 369 points. Holland West Ottawa finished second with 233.5 points, while Saline came third with 230 points.

Pioneer was led by senior Matt Segal, who finished first in the 200-meter freestyle with a time of 1 minute, 38.24 seconds and the 100-meter breaststroke in a time of 53.26.

Department 2 at Jenison

Birmingham Seaholm joined the girls’ program that school year and won the state championship, the first since the consecutive 2015.

The Maples took first place with 267.5 points, ahead of Grosse Pointe South in second place with a total of 222 points.

South was looking for his first state title since 1968.

UD Jesuit came third with 180 points.

The only event Seaholm won was diving as Kam Lieberman won the title in that event with 523.15 points.

But the Maples drove deep and top 8 placements to the title.

Department 3 in Holland

After four runner-ups in a row and the state meeting that was canceled due to the pandemic last year, the persistence for East Grand Rapids has finally been rewarded.

The pioneers won their first state since 2013 and won the crown with 308 points. Holland Christian finished second with 218.5 points while Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood finished third with 194 points.

Andrew Dobrzanski from Milan and Colin Kalkman from Holland Christian were the individual outstanding personalities.

Dobrzanski won the 200-meter medley in a time of 1: 50.07 and the 100-meter breaststroke in a time of 54.67, while Kalkman won the 100-meter freestyle in a time of 45.72 and the 100 -Meter back in a time of 1: 50.07 won 50.96.

Comments are closed.