Detroit Pistons assign Isaiah Livers, Luka Garza, Saben Lee to Motor City Cruise

DETROIT – The Detroit Pistons have a full roster and there is a lot of competition for minutes. With the Pistons’ roster nearly full, the team has assigned three of its young players to Motor City Cruise.

On Monday, the Pistons announced they had assigned Luka Garza, Saben Lee and Isaiah Livers to their G League partner. All three players are still under contract with the Pistons, but the move allows them all to benefit from the playing time that will help their development.

Because they have standard contracts, there is no limit to the number of days they can be available to the pistons. That means Detroit can call them back at any time if necessary.

Garza, Lee, and Livers, who play with the Cruise, is exactly why the Pistons wanted to bring a G League partner to Detroit. It gives players who could benefit from extra playing time, access to a team without having to drive across the country. It also allows players who are rehabilitating injuries a competitive atmosphere in which to try and get themselves into game state.

Both Garza and Lee were at the end of the Pistons rotation in their first six games. Garza has an average playing time of eight minutes while Lee has an average of seven minutes.

Lee and Garza have already prepared for the Cruise’s second and final preseason game against the Grand Rapids Gold.

Cruise Head Coach DJ Bakker spoke about his team’s symbiotic relationship with the Pistons. He talked about the communication the two sides will have to help the players succeed in the NBA

“Where do we want to go in its development?” Said Bakker. “What do we need to develop this player, either to get minutes with the Pistons or to expand his role with the Pistons? So we need to understand which direction we want to take with each player and put them in similar situations on offense and defense to make sure they get those replays. So everything they get from us will be carried over when they go back and play with the pistons. “

In addition to Garza, Lee and Livers, the two-way players Jamorko Pickett and Chris Smith will also spend a large part of their season on the cruise. Both Pickett and Smith will only be available for 50 games with the Pistons, based on the rules of two-way contracts.

Motor City will play its home games in the newly built Wayne State Arena. It opens its season on the road against the Cleveland Charge before returning home to house the Wisconsin herd.

Cruise schedule

Sat Nov 6th at Cleveland Charge – 7:00 p.m.

Thu Nov 11, Wisconsin Herd – 7:00 p.m.

Fri Nov 12, Wisconsin Herd – 7:00 p.m.

Marry. November 17th at Windy City Bulls – 8:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 18 at Windy City Bulls – 8:00 p.m.

Tue November 23 at Grand Rapids Gold – 7:00 p.m.

Marry. November 24th at Grand Rapids Gold – 7:00 p.m.

Sat Nov. 27, Iowa Wolves – 7:00 p.m.

Mon-Fri November 29, Iowa Wolves – 7:00 p.m.

Tuesday December 7th Sioux Falls Skyforce – 11:00 a.m.

Marry. December 8, Sioux Falls Skyforce – 7:00 p.m.

Fri December 17 at Cleveland Charge – 7:00 p.m.

Marry. December 29, Delaware Blue Coats – 7:00 p.m.

Fri December 31, Wisconsin Herd – 3:00 p.m.

Sun. January 2, Toronto Raptors 905 – 3:00 p.m.

Tue. January 4th Toronto Raptors 905 – 7:00 p.m.

Marry. January 5th at Windy City Bulls – 8:00 p.m.

Sat January 8th at Capital City Go-Go – 7:00 p.m.

Mon-Fri January 10 at Westchester Knicks – 7:00 p.m.

Tuesday January 11th at Westchester Knicks – 7:00 p.m.

Sun. January 16, College Park Skyhawks – 3:00 p.m.

College Park Skyhawks Tuesday, January 18 – 7:00 PM

Thursday January 20th at Grand Rapids Gold – 7:00 p.m.

Sat January 22nd, Lakeland Magic – 7:00 p.m.

Mon-Fri January 24th, Grand Rapids Gold – 7:00 p.m.

Marry. January 26 at Toronto Raptors 905 11:00 am

Sun. January 30, Maine Celtics – 3:00 p.m.

Fri February 4 at College Park Skyhawks – 7:00 p.m.

Sat February 5, Long Island Nets – 7:00 p.m.

Mon-Fri February 7, Long Island Nets – 7:00 p.m.

Marry. February 9 at Greensboro Swarm – 7:00 p.m.

Sat February 12 at Lakeland Magic – 7:00 p.m.

Thu. Feb.17, Fort Wayne Mad Ants 7:00 p.m.

Marry. February 23 at Wisconsin Herd – 7:00 p.m.

Sun. February 27 at Long Island Nets – 6:00 p.m.

Thursday March 3 Westchester Knicks -11: 00 a.m.

Fri March 4th Windy City Bulls – 7:00 p.m.

Tue March 8th at Cleveland Charge – 6:00 p.m.

Thursday March 10th at Maine Celtics – 7:00 p.m.

Fri March 11 at Maine Celtics – 7:00 p.m.

Marry. March 16 Capital City Go-Go – 7:00 p.m.

Fri March 18 Capital City Go-Go – 7:00 p.m.

Sun. March 20, Greensboro Swarm – 3:00 p.m.

Thursday March 24th at Fort Wayne Mad Ants -11: 00 a.m.

Fri March 25 at Fort Wayne Mad Ants – 7:00 p.m.

Sun. March 27 in Delaware Blue Coats – 3:00 p.m.

Tue March 29 in Delaware Blue Coats – 11:00 PM

Sat April 2 Cleveland Charge – 7:00 p.m.

Comments are closed.