4 Detroit city council incumbents not running for reelection in August

Four out of nine members of Detroit City Council will not run for re-election, including President Brenda Jones.

With 9 seats open and 45 candidates in August, competition will be fierce. Two seats are at large and seven are district-based.

Of the 45, five are incumbents: Pro tem Mary Sheffield, member Janeé Ayers, James Tate from District 1, Roy McCalister Jr. from District 2, and Scott Benson from District 3.

In addition to Jones, who is not running for re-election, are André L. Spivey, member of District 4, Raquel Castañeda-López, member of District 6, and Gabe Leland, member of District 7.

Major candidates include incumbent Ayers, former Senator Coleman Young II, Jermain Jones, Nicole Small, Royce Kinniebrew, Steven Lett and Mary Waters.

Candidates by District:

In District 1, Tate is ruling against Quincy Coleman, Darryl Brown, and Krystal Larsosa.

District 2 candidates are McCalister, Angela Calloway, Michael Evans, Jaylin Harris, Levan Adams, and Andrew Tyrus.

Acting District 3, Benson, is also running for re-election against Steven Shelton, Adam Mundy, Dennis Green and Vanessa Olive.

The candidates for District 4 are all new: Toson Jewell-Knight, Michael Elrick, Anemashaun Bomani, Virgil Smith, Latisha Johnson, Kenneth Snapp, Corey Gilchrist, and Daivon Reeder

Elrick:Former reporter, retired judge, tries to represent Detroit’s east side on city council

More:Michigan to see how many seats it can lose in Congress during the census announcement

In District 5, the reigning Sheffield will again face Hector Santiago, David Sanchez, Gabriela Santiago-Romero and Myamika Jordan.

The brand new candidates for District 7 will be the most competitive with Regina Ross, JoAnna Underwood, Angy Webb, Frederick Durhal, John Bennett, Ericka Murria, DeQuincy Hyatt, Robert Dunlap, William Davis and Terrell George.

Contact Minnah Arshad: [email protected] and follow her on Twitter @minnaharshad.

Support local journalism here.

Comments are closed.