Education Newsmakers: 10/04/2021 | Local News

  • These native students graduated from Ohio University after the 2021 summer semester: Brian Roman from Traverse City and Shannon Cole from Manistee. Both students earned their BS in Nursing from the College of Health Sciences and Professions.
  • TCAPS Lead Bus Mechanic Dean Councilor won the Michigan Association for Pupil Transportation School Bus Technician of the Year Award. Councilor has been a bus mechanic since 2007. He holds 17 certifications from the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence Mechanics and is currently President of the Kingsley Sportsman Club.
  • The Traverse City Kiwanis Club recognized Isabel Niemer, a graduate of St. Francis High School, for the week of September 28th. Niemer is a National Honor Society officer, President of the Environment Club, and President of the Student Council. She has participated in school musicals, selected ensemble choirs, the Kiwanis Key Club and JV Tennis. She won first place in the Voice of Democracy Essay Contest (VFW Post 2780); American Literature, AP English Language, and AP US Government Awards; and AP Scholar with Honors Recognition. She maintains a weighted GPA of 4.255 and isn’t sure where to go to college. Niemer is planning a degree in cognitive science or business administration to begin a career in marketing.
  • The West Shore Community College has added these students to the list of deans for the 2020-21 winter semester:

Amanda J. Ross of Cadillac; Skylar J. Wojciechowski of Harrietta; Sylvia L. Mauntler and Rachel L. Shoebridge, both from Arcadia; Hunter P. Bentley, Margaret J. Bradford, Thomas H. Bradford, Keera Groenwald, Megan E. Gydesen, Linda L. Hartman, Dylan R. Ide, Breanna R. Schneider, Kalissa Swanson, Maegan N. Hrachovina, Megan R. Lowe , Quentin Ruiz and Sophia K. Wisniski – all from Bear Lake; Emilee G. MacPherson, Leah Nelson, Randi L. Nelson, and Hannah G. Winter – all from Kaleva; Breanna M. Alexander, Brendan C. Cook, Glory P. Curtiss, Hope F. Erlandson, Taylor D. Haglund, Kelly S. Kelley, Jessica M. Kiszelik, Shanna R. Knudsen, Emilee D. Kott, Andrew Lloyd, Celeste N Lloyd, Aleah M. Miller, Ndio B. Mitchell, Cayley P. Nelson, Danielle E. Oleniczak, Danyeil M. Schubert, Julie L. Stec, Alora R. Sundbeck, Austin M. Taylor, Adam S. Vaas, Jasmyn M White , Debra M. Bialik, Destiny F. Dulaney, Shelby Fraly, Shannon M. Freese, Brendan R. Jans, Nicholas J. Kolanowski, Brianne L. Krumins, Holly Lafleur, Patrick L. Quinn, Kyria E. Rowe, Christopher W. Rowland and Jeslyn R. Saenz – all from Manistee; Megan Faber, Jaylona M. Hull, Kaitlin Kubiskey, Mairin K. McCarthy, Jenna J. Bromley, Sara K. Bromley, and Ellery W. McIsaac – all from Onekama; and Claire E. Ball, Wellston.

Comments are closed.