Detroit Tigers’ Jeimer Candelario wins 2021 Tiger of the Year

The Detroit Tigers’ third baseman Jeimer Candelario becomes the first player since Miguel Cabrera to win two consecutive Tiger of the Year awards in the 2012 and 2013 seasons.

Candelario was named Tiger of the Year 2021 on Tuesday afternoon as voted by the Detroit Chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

[ Will Jeimer Candelario become ‘the whole package’ for Tigers? He says so ]

The 27-year-old was considered the Tigers’ most consistent player last season and finished best with 3.2 wins over the substitute team. Candelario received nine votes, followed by infielder Jonathan Schoop (five votes), outfielder Robbie Grossman (three votes) and right-handed pitcher Casey Mize (one vote).

Since the award’s inception in 1965, only seven players have won titles in a row: Denny McLain (1968-69), Ron LeFlore (1977-78), Alan Trammell (1987-88), Cecil Fielder (1990-92), Travis Fryman (1995-96), Cabrera (2012-13) and Candelario (2020-21).

“Hall of Famers, like Alan Trammell and Miguel Cabrera,” said Candelario. “Being part of this group, being Tiger of the Year in a row is a joy and a blessing. It’s something I’ve put a lot of effort into, but coming together as a team and having a winning mentality helps us to be a part of that Group to be crowd. “

GREENES BIG DEBUT: Tiger’s prospect Riley Greene knows what’s next. The question is when?”

KREIDLER’S RISE: What Tigers prospect Ryan Kreidler thinks about the shortstop market: “I’ll change my game”

Candelario won the 2020 Tiger of the Year award last November after hitting 0.297 with seven home runs and 29 RBIs in 52 games in the shortened season. In 2021, the switch hitter beat .271 with 42 doubles, three triples, 16 homers and 67 RBIs in 149 games.

“When you get into the big leagues and you know the strike zone, you want to be ready,” said Candelario. “If you’re not ready to hit, you’re going to get in trouble. For me it was only in attack mode. But attack beats. I don’t want to guess. I just want to see the ball.” , hit the ball.”

Finishing first in the MLB with 42 doubles helped Candelario get a .443 slugging percentage. He drew 65 walks, compared to 135 strikeouts, for a percentage of .351 on the base. On the field he recorded minus 4 defensive runs that he had saved as an everyday third baseman.

“My mentality when I’m at third base is expecting to have a ground ball,” said Candelario. “I have to get better and better at my first step. I want to get a Gold Glove. That’s the goal. Anything I can do to help my team win, I’ll do my best and work hard to get it.” receive.”

Candelario became the twelfth player in franchise history to produce 40 or more doubles in a season and the first Tiger since Cabrera in 2011 to lead the MLB in the two-man digger.

ROSTER PREDICTION 2022 1.0: A big name could fill shortstop void, but what about pitching?

PLAYER LEVEL: The evaluation of each Tiger as a team aims to win records in the playoffs in 2022

Detroit Tigers third baseman Jeimer Candelario, 46, makes first base during the first inning against the Toronto Blue Jays at Comerica Park on August 27, 2021.

For the past two seasons, Candelario has a .278 batting average, .356 on-base percentage and .458 slugging percentage with 53 doubles, three triples, 23 homers, 96 RBIs, 85 walks and 184 strikeouts in 201 games.

The Tigers acquired Candelario along with fellow infielder Isaac Paredes in a 2017 deal with the Chicago Cubs in exchange for catcher Alex Avila and rescuer Justin Wilson. Candelario is a .246 hitter in 482 career games.

“I’ll be the same Candelario and keep my routine,” he said. “I just want to keep learning, do my best, use my skills properly and help my team win. For me, it’s about having this winning mentality and helping my team.”

Tiger of the year winners since 2000:

2000: Bobby Higginson

2001: Steve Sparks

2002: Randall Simon

2003: Dmitri Young

2004: Ivan ‘Pudge’ Rodriguez

2005: Placido Polanco

2006: Carlos Guillen

2007: Magglio Ordonez

2008: Miguel Cabrera

2009: Justin Verlander

2010: Miguel Cabrera

2011: Justin Verlander

2012: Miguel Cabrera

2013: Miguel Cabrera

2014: Victor Martinez

2015: JD Martinez

2016: Justin Verlander

2017: Justin Upton

2018: Nick Castellanos

2019: Matthew Boyd

2020: Jeimer Candelario

2021: Jeimer Candelario

Contact Evan Petzold at [email protected] or follow him on Twitter @EvanPetzold. Read more about the Detroit Tigers and sign up for our Tigers newsletter.

Comments are closed.